Arctic Circumpolar Governance

This section defines the Arctic region and explains the complexities of Arctic governance through the Arctic Council. The Council consists of the eight Arctic States, six Arctic Indigenous Peoples’ Organisations as Permanent Participants, a unique arrangement. There are also other Observers who have to abide by an Observer Manual.

Aaju (link to movie)Listen to Aaju

The Arctic Region has eight different nations and many different societies

pole positionPole position

Where is the Arctic?There are many different definitions of the Arctic, but which is the right one?

cool runningGoing further

Countries of the ArcticThe Arctic covers one sixth of the earth's landmass, more than 30 million km2, and twenty four time zones!
The Arctic CouncilThe Ottawa Declaration of 1996 formally established the Arctic Council.
Indigenous groupsMany indigenous groups are represented on the Arctic Council...

Polar pitstopPolar pitstop

Bathurst InletHow do you think the import of resources from outside the Arctic region has affected the lives of the indigenous people?

Home | 1: Climate change | 2: Living on the edge | 3: Arctic science | 4: Hunter or hunted? | 5: Postcard from the edge | 6: Troubled waters | 7: Resources from the edge | 8: Arctic Circumpolar Governance | 9: Snow, water, ice, permafrost | 10: Adapting to change

For teachers | Resource finder | Help | About the site/terms and conditions

Discovering Antarctica, our sister site