Arctic circumpolar governance

This section defines the Arctic region and explains the complexities of Arctic governance through the Arctic Council. The Council consists of the eight Arctic States, six Arctic Indigenous Peoples’ Organisations as Permanent Participants, a unique arrangement. There are also other Observers who have to abide by an Observer Manual.

video icon

The Arctic: Dynamic Partnerships and Communities

New international partnerships for the UK in this fragile, and vitally important, part of the world.